Peranakan Museum: Vintage

Love this old typewriter. Pure elegance. This and other items, used to belong to a Peranakan philanthropist and have been donated to the museum.

photo by bookjunkie

Was excited when I saw these old telephones. Another station kids will like. Wish I could get a pale pink one but not the press button kind but the authentic dialing type that goes zing when you release it. I loved playing with the phone as a kid. Better than any toy. So sad when the then Telecoms took it away and replaced it with the boring, not so attractive push button. I guess these are just models as the real purpose was the interactive aspect of this station where you could pick up the phone and ‘eavesdrop’ on a Peranakan conversation.

photo by bookjunkie

photo by bookjunkie

photo by bookjunkie

Adore this little beaded purse.

photo by bookjunkie

Love this vintage glasses that my dad used to wear as a teen.  One of the items donated by the family of the philanthropist.

photo by bookjunkie

Women had much smaller feet then.

photo by bookjunkie

About bookjunkie

Blogging about my daily life in Singapore helps with my mid life crisis.
This entry was posted in Culture & Society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Peranakan Museum: Vintage

  1. I love the beautiful patterns in the displays. I love all these vintage items….this style is coming back–Those glasses are on sale at Urban Outfitters–a popular clothing retailer –very “vintage hip”.

  2. whatsaysyou says:

    The beaded purse looks so nice. Man, that makes me wish I have a Peranakan kebaya for real 🙂

  3. blisschic says:

    I have never been to the Peranakan Museum in Singapore and from the looks of it, it seems like I’m missing out on a hidden gem! 🙂 Shall drop a visit to the museum soon. One of my favourite independent museum is the Children Little Museum (Which I just visited again yesterday!) and I believe that it’s a cozy museum that you will enjoy as it has lots of items and toys from the yesteryear.

    • bookjunkie says:

      I am so glad I could entice you to visit. I just chanced upon it and I’m so happy I decided to go check it out.

      I must visit the museum you mentioned…walked by it and thought it was a shop.

Leave a Reply

