#3. The Sexy Cherry

I find that making this ‘Healthy Food I Like’ list is working. I’m now having a fruit a day, because my self awareness has been raised. I hope this lasts.

The reason why I call it the sexy cherry is that you always find it in provocative pictures. They love to pose models and celebrities with a cherry in their mouth. Somehow an apple is just not a sexy. Many years ago a friend showed us that she could knot a cherry stem in her mouth and it’s supposed to indicate that you’re really good at french kissing. I was quite impressed that she could make 2 knots. I still don’t know how you do that.

Cherries are my cousin D’s favourite fruit. She likes it fresh I think. I also like the ones you get with cocktails. I actually like the medicinal sugary taste although some people don’t.

Read about the health benefits of this superfruit at Green Living Online and here’s an extract.

Heart Health:
…may reduce a person’s risk of developing cardiovascular disease. They also inhibit plaque formation and reduce inflammation.

Cancer Prevention:
Fiber, vitamin C, carotenoids and anthocyanins – cherries are packed with cancer-preventing compounds.

Diabetes:

..cherries have a considerably lower G.I. score than many other fruits, including apricots, blueberries and plums. Because of this, cherries are thought to help boost insulin production and help control a person’s blood sugar levels.

Brain Health:
..In addition to helping regulate sleep patterns, melatonin is an important antioxidant that helps maintain optimum brain functioning and may deter the onset of age-related chronic diseases like Alzheimer’s.

photo by bookjunkie

photo by bookjunkie

About bookjunkie

Blogging about my daily life in Singapore helps with my mid life crisis.
This entry was posted in Healthy Food I Like and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #3. The Sexy Cherry

  1. yes, cherries…nature’s laxative! Who doesn’t love these?

  2. thinkpinktoo says:

    Cherry season is almost over… Going to miss getting cherries at $9 a kilo…

  3. 365days2play says:

    Thanks for this list! Need to start getting a berry fix everyday. I love cherries but they are so expensive in singapore, come to think of it, all berries are expensive in Singapore 😦

Leave a Reply

