Vui Kong, You’re Just a Child to Me

Dear Vui Kong,

Happy Birthday. To me you’re just a child.  23 is so incredibly young.  When I was  23 I was often told I was innocent and green.  I fear that you were even more so, when you resorted to trafficking.  I feel that you had no idea what trouble you were getting yourself into.

I feel this gnawing ache that you are in prison on your birthday aware of the fate that awaits you.  I pray that you can get a second chance.  It would definitely renew my faith in humanity and my country.  I just feel in my heart that giving you a second chance is the right thing.  My heart tells me that you are a good boy who is loved by his family.

I came across this blogathon on Kirsten’s blog and thought I should write a little note to you as well.  I am sure that you are in the prayers of many people in Singapore and people who have heard your story.

Kirsten said it best, and I hope as many people who come to this little space on the interweb get a chance to read her moving letter at Funny Little World.

About bookjunkie

Blogging about my daily life in Singapore helps with my mid life crisis.
This entry was posted in Culture & Society and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vui Kong, You’re Just a Child to Me

  1. kirsten says:

    Thank you! I’m printing this to add to the collection to pass over to him. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Let the boy live «

  3. Pingback: The Blog-A-Thon for Vui Kong. « We Believe In Second Chances

  4. Pingback: A Letter to Vui Kong | funny little world

Leave a Reply

