What I Learnt About Cochin

I knew that Kerala was in the southern part of India, but I didn’t know that it was that far south.  Previously I was also not aware that Cochin is now known as Kochi.  The government is trying to do away with the colonial name as it has similarly done by renaming Bombay , Mumbai. Personally I prefer the old names, just like I prefer Ceylon to Sri Lanka because that is how I have known the place since I was a child and any change just doesn’t feel right.  I also feel that you can take back ownership no matter what the name.  It’s all about changing the associations that go with the name.  The reason why I bring up Ceylon is because as the ancient maps will show, Cochin is very near Sri Lanka.  In ancient times I am sure there were cross migrations and I found the people have very similar facial features, expressions and cuisines.  Both cuisines have a heavy use of coconut, but I guess this is because they are coastal cities and they also both have highlands, tea plantations and a highly proportion of people who speak and write English, due to its colonial past.

photo by bookjunkie

photo by bookjunkie

About bookjunkie

Blogging about my daily life in Singapore helps with my mid life crisis.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

