Pippi Longstocking

From Wikipedia:

Pippi Longtocking or Pippi Långstrump in its original language Swedish, is a book by  Swedish author Astrid Lindgren, and adapted into multiple films and television series. Pippi was named by Lindgren’s then nine-year-old daughter, Karin, who requested a get-well story from her mother one day when she was home sick from school.

Nine-year-old Pippi is unconventional, assertive, and has superhuman strength, being able to lift her horse one-handed without difficulty. She frequently mocks and dupes adults she encounters, an attitude likely to appeal to young readers; however, Pippi usually reserves her worst behavior for the most pompous and condescending of adults.

I used to love Pipi Longstocking books as a child and I especially remember the TV Show dubbed in English. She was a magical little girl who had red braids that would stick out, because she tied them so tight, and she could lift a horse!  She also fought mean adults.  It’s lovely seeing it in it’s original form.

About bookjunkie

Blogging about my daily life in Singapore helps with my mid life crisis.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pippi Longstocking

  1. 365days2play says:

    I remember her! I was just so fascinated with what she could do an how she would always outwit the adults. And the adventures!

    • bookjunkie says:

      I used to live in those books…I miss the time when we could actually enter a different world by just reading. Somehow it’s easier for a child. I loved Pippi for her spunkiness and her lovely stipped stockings! Too bad it was too hot in Singapore to wear stockings or I definitely would have.

  2. 365days2play says:

    I tried to braid my hair like hers but I failed!

Leave a Reply

